Research Databases

List of research database titles, descriptions and links
Logo for Academic Search Premier, featuring a green and blue circular design with the text 'Academic Search Premier' in white. The logo is presented by EBSCOhost.

Academic Search Premier

A popular resource found in many scholarly settings worldwide, Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.

Use this resource
African American family packing their car

African American Heritage

Search records, books, serials, and other historical records specific to African Americans to trace your genealogy or to do research.

Use this resource
The image is a logo for EBSCOhost's Alt HealthWatch. It features the EBSCOhost logo in the top left corner, and the text "Alt HealthWatch" in the center. To the right of the text is a blue drop icon with a white cross inside a green circle.

Alt HealthWatch

Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990

Use this resource
Book with reading glasses laying on top

American and English full text literature collections

Electronic books of American and English literature: poetry, drama, fiction, and the Bible.

Use this resource
Green ancestry.com photo

Ancestry Library Edition

[IN-LIBRARY USE ONLY] Trace your genealogy using historical records. U. S. Census records; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; petitions for naturalization; passenger lists and more. You must be in the library to access this database.

Use this resource
Typewriter with the word biography typed on paper. Text reads Biography Reference Bank EBSCO

Biography Reference Bank

Access biographical information on more than 335,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines.

Use this resource
Man holding a pencil examining charts on a table. Text reads Business Source Premier EBSCO

Business Source Premier

Boost your business knowledge by researching company and industry profiles, country and market research reports, and magazine articles.

Use this resource
Chilton Library Prepare for the Road Ahead with small model car sitting on a paper map

Chilton Library

Fix your car, truck, van, or SUV with these diagnostics, maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, and step-by-step repair procedures.

Use this resource
Man stirring vegetables in a skillet with text that reads Consumer Health Complete EBSCO

Consumer Health Complete

Browse medical, health-related and drug reference books. Read articles on health and fitness. Find sources for alternative health information

Use this resource
Middle Eastern town with a small globe shown in the picture with Culturegrams

CultureGrams

Concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries of the world. Beyond the facts and figures, find an insider's perspective on the history, daily life, and customs. Also covers US states and Canadian provinces.

Use this resource
DPLA Ohio's local history online vintage photo of old style bookmobile where sides fold up

Digital Public Library of America

Historic digital collections from libraries, museums, and archives across Ohio and more. The DPLA portal to photographs, maps, documents, and AV materials from across the country is a great starting place for your local history and genealogy reference.

Use this resource
Digital landscape with text EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost

Search thousands of magazines, academic journals, newspapers, reference books, photos and maps on millions of topics.

Use this resource
The image is a logo for EBSCOhost's ERIC. It features the EBSCOhost logo in the top left corner, and the text "ERIC" in the center. To the right of the text is a blue apple icon on top of a green book.

Education Resource Information Center (ERIC)

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.

Use this resource
Hot air balloon with text Explora for middle schools facts for grades 6-8

Explora for Middle Schools

Specifically designed with the needs of middle school students in mind. Includes full-text articles from popular, vocational, and trade magazines, full-text newspaper articles, along with images, videos, and primary sources.

Use this resource
Orange, black and blue frog on a leaf

Explora Primary Schools

A trustworthy environment for students and educators in grades K through 5 to look up facts for class projects or homework.

Use this resource
Digital landscape with text Explora Secondary Facts for grades 9-12

Explora Secondary Schools

Grades 9-12: A far better alternative to websites and search engines for students to look up articles and facts for research papers or homework.

Use this resource
FamilySearch logo

FamilySearch

FamilySearch is the largest genealogy organization in the world. Millions of people use FamilySearch records, resources, and services each year to learn more about their family history. FamilySearch provides free access to 4+ billion names from all over the world.

FamilySearch is a nonprofit family history organization affiliated with The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.

Use this resource
Black and white photo of a group of soldiers with their backs turned to the camera

Fold3

A premier collection of historical U.S. military records that brings to life the details of America’s military veterans with stories, photos, and personal documents.

Use this resource
Gale In Context graphic

Gale In Context: Elementary

Gale In Context: Elementary, formerly Kids InfoBits, gives children a safe place to find answers to their questions, practice research skills, and explore interests inside and outside the classroom. The modern design and simple navigation make it easy for users to explore content and gain comfort with database searching. 


It also gives teachers access to digital resources that can supplement and enhance instruction. Elementary school children gain comfort with research by delivering age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of subjects taught in the classroom like animals, arts and music, social studies, and more. Unlike other classroom databases, Elementary offers kids through grade 5 a platform with rich visuals that will encourage their natural curiosity and get them excited about learning.

Use this resource
Health Source Consumer database graphic

Health Source Consumer Edition

Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information covering a wide variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics. Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.

Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 30 full-text, non-open access consumer health magazines and 100 full-text reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.

Additionally, with Health Source: Consumer Edition, users have access to Clinical Reference Systems reports, in both English and Spanish, and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.

*Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment.

Use this resource
Health Source Nursing/Academic database graphic

Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Content includes 140 active full-text, non-open access journals, 120 peer-reviewed, active full-text, non-open access journals, and 930 indexed and abstracted journals.

Use this resource
A vintage photo of books, an old school ink pen and photos

HeritageQuest

Search census records, books, serials, and other historical records to trace your genealogy.

Use this resource
Cup of paintbrushes surrounded by paint splotches. Text reads Hobbies and Crafts Source EBSCO

Hobbies & Crafts Source

Find "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast.

Use this resource
Woman painting a bookcase with the text Home Improvement Source EBSCO

Home Improvement Source

Home Improvement Source features full-text content from leading home improvement magazines, images not found anywhere else online and videos of popular home repair projects.

Use this resource
InfoPlease Logo

InfoPlease

Infoplease is a reference and learning site, combining the contents of an encyclopedia, a dictionary, an atlas and several almanacs loaded with statistics, facts, and historical records. Infoplease editors regularly update and refine this enormous body of information—as well as adding new discoveries and identifying trends—to bring you reliable and authoritative information.

Parents, teachers and librarians turn to Infoplease for information on an array of topics, including current events, pop culture, science, government and history. They can also confidently point students and children to the COPPA and kidSAFE-certified sister site, Fact Monster, assured that it's a safe place for kids to explore.

Infoplease is part of the FEN Learning family of educational and reference sites for parents, teachers and students.

Use this resource
Literary Reference Center database graphic

Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center is a rich full-text literary database covering all genres and timeframes. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.

 

Content includes:

  • Plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews.
  • Nearly 100,000 pieces of literary criticism.
  • Author biographies and interviews.
  • More than 693,000 book reviews.
  • Full-text poems and short stories.
Use this resource
MAS Ultra School Edition database graphic

MAS Ultra: School Edition

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Use this resource
MasterFILE Premier database graphic

MasterFILE Premier

This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Use this resource
MEDLINE Database Logo Graphic

MEDLINE

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.

Use this resource
Middle Search Plus database graphic

Middle Search Plus

Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.

Use this resource
Newspaper Source database graphic

Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional U.S. newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

Use this resource
Northstar digital literacy logo

Northstar Digital Literacy

Self-directed assessment and learning tool that covers a variety of technology scenarios. Find short lessons and practice exercises to improve skills on common computer topics such as email basics, Microsoft Word, and social media.

Use this resource
Stack of encyclopedias with text Oxford Research Encyclopedias Everything You Need to Know

Oxford Research Encyclopedias

Reference content in humanities, social sciences, and science

Use this resource
Woman holding a paper while talking to a group. Text reads Points of View Reference Center EBSCO

Points of View Reference Center

Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this resource provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Use this resource
Primary Search database graphic

Primary Search

Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

Use this resource
Professional Development Collection Logo Graphic

Professional Development Collection

Designed for professional educators, the Professional Development Collection database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.

Use this resource
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection database graphic

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

Use this resource
Religion and Philosophy Collection database graphic

Religion and Philosophy Collection

Religion & Philosophy Collection™ provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With more more than 300 full text journals, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.

Use this resource
A black and white map with text that reads Sanborn Fire Maps Over 40,000 detailed historical Ohio maps

Sanborn Fire Maps

Find large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods. Study the growth of towns and cities, and the impact of new development

Use this resource
DNA with light shining through. Text reads Science Reference Center EBSCO

Science Reference Center

Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources.

Use this resource
Woman holding an open sign in front of a shop door. Text reads Small Business Source EBSCO

Small Business Source

Offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. Includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.

Use this resource
Transparent Language Online logo

Transparent Language Online

Learn to speak a new language with the help of Transparent Language Online. Over 100 foreign language courses are available that can help you learn languages including French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Spanish and Mandarin Chinese. There's also an ESL component that provides English language learning to speakers of over 25 different languages.

Use this resource
A painting with teal at the top, gold in the middle and dark blue at the bottem

Very Short Introductions

An excellent way to get a quick authoritative and accessible overview of a subject.

Use this resource
Vocational and Career Collection database graphic

Vocational and Career Collection

Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.

Use this resource
A cherry tree with what tree is it on top?

What Tree is it?

Whether wandering through the woods or the neighborhood, users can use What Tree Is It? to identify their surrounding trees by leaf or fruit. Learn more by exploring trees by name.

Use this resource
a orange background with a small green snake in the top right hand corner with What's that snake? written on it.

What's That Snake?

For both budding naturalists and inadvertent encounters, What's That Snake? will help anyone identify an Ohio snake in a few simple steps. Learn more by exploring Snakes by Name, a Snake FAQ, the Glossary, or Further Reading suggestions.

Use this resource
Artifacts pictured with the words What's the Point?

What's the Point?

By answering just a few questions, flint artifacts of Ohio can be identified as a blade, drill, point, or scraper and attributed to a likely era and people. Learn more by exploring the Glossary, Artifacts Index, or articles about Ohio's Prehistoric People.

Use this resource
Chameleon lizard perched on a stick with the text World Book World Book - Banco de Contenidos aulaPlaneta

World Book - Banco de Contenidos aulaPlaneta

Upper-level Spanish language database intended for high school students through adult learners. – La base de datos de nivel superior en español destinada a estudiantes de secundaria hasta adultos.

Use this resource
Rabbit and exotic bird with text World Book The optimal beginner’s Spanish-language reference tool offering all the best elements of World Book Kids; designed to build key language and research skills. – La herramienta de referencia en español óptima para principiantes que ofrece todos los mejores elementos de World Book Kids; diseñado para desarrollar habilidades clave de lenguaje e investigación

World Book - Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

The optimal beginner’s Spanish-language reference tool offering all the best elements of World Book Kids; designed to build key language and research skills. – La herramienta de referencia en español óptima para principiantes que ofrece todos los mejores elementos de World Book Kids; diseñado para desarrollar habilidades clave de lenguaje e investigación.

Use this resource
Colorful Hot Air Balloons in the air with text World Book World Book - L'Encyclopédie Découverte

World Book - L'Encyclopédie Découverte

Bienvenue à L'Encyclopédie Découverte, World Book's French language encyclopedia. It features two interfaces: one aimed at grades K through 4 and for older students and adults. – Bienvenue à L'Encyclopédie Découverte, encyclopédie de la langue française du World Book. Il comporte deux interfaces: une destinée à la maternelle à la quatrième année et une pour les élèves plus âgés et les adultes.

Use this resource
Screenshot of World Book research icons

World Book Advanced

Ages 14 and up. A wealth of vetted articles supplemented by thousands of original source documents fosters advanced research and critical thinking skills and prepares students for continued growth!

Use this resource
a cartoon monkey smiling ready to play

World Book Early Learning

Ages 3-7. Developed with experts in early childhood education, this re-designed database offers rich resources to help young learners build their vocabulary, comprehension, phonics, and reading fluency.

Use this resource
A sled being pulled by wolves across the frozen lake

World Book Kids

Ages 6-10. This go-to resource is chock-full of fun activities, hands-on science projects, and age-appropriate articles, and offers image-based navigation to help young learners find information quickly and develop necessary digital literacy skills.

Use this resource
World Book Spanish database graphic

World Book Spanish

World Book Spanish is a dedicated Spanish-language database that contains videos, compare-and-contrast features, selected articles, and a visual dictionary to allow ESL students and Spanish-learners the chance to learn. Integrated with World Book Kids for parallel English-language content.

Use this resource
Astronaut in space with logo for World Book Student

World Book Student

Ages 10-14. Tailored specifically for students, articles include multimedia and related resources to engage students, biographies, and supplemental tools to support cross-curricular studies.

Use this resource
Featured: History of the Automobile with a picture of two people on one of the worlds first automobiles

World Book Timelines

Explore more than 650 pre-made timelines with over 14,000 individual events, or create your own timelines!

Use this resource